Election of General Council and Vicar General

The General Chapter today elected the General Council for the Passionist Congregation 2006 – 2012.

Those elected were Fr Luis Alberto Cano Seijo (Spain) with 60 votes, Fr Clemente Barrone (USA) with 59 votes, Fr Denis Travers (Australia) with 58 votes and Fr Luigi Vaninetti (Italy) with 48 votes.

Fr Denis Travers was then elected First Consultor.   This is the first time in the history of the Passionists that an Australian has served as First Consultor, or Vicar General of the Congregation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: