4th April 2008 – Passionist Feast of the Glorious Wounds of Our Lord Jesus Christ – Memorial

One of the most notable Anglo-Catholic hymns relating to the Five Wounds was the work of Fr. Andrew Ernest Hardy (d.1946), founder of the Anglican Society of the Divine Compassion. He wrote

O dearest Lord, thy sacred head
With thorns was pierced for me;
O pour thy blessing on my head
That I may think of Thee.

O dearest Lord, thy sacred hands
With nails was pierced for me;
O shed thy blessing on my hands
That they may work for Thee.

O dearest Lord, thy sacred feet
With nails was pierced for me:
O pour thy blessing on my feet
That they may follow Thee.

O dearest Lord, thy sacred heart
With spear was pierced for me;
O pour thy Spirit in my heart
That I may live for Thee.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

