An enormous grace: Stigmata

[Photo: Fr. Kevin Tuitu’u C.P. standing in the room in Lucca in which St. Gemma Galgani received the Stigmata on 8th June 1899]

“An enormous grace: Stigmata – The day of June 8, after communion, Jesus informed me how he would give me an enormous grace that evening. I went the same day to confession and I told the monsignor and he answered that I should take great care to refer everything back to him afterward.

It was evening and all of a sudden, earlier than usual, I felt an external pain for my sins, so strong that I never again felt it to such an extent; that pain reduced me, I would almost say, to the point of death. After this I felt all the forces of my soul collecting: my intellect knew only my sins and the offence toward God; my memory recalled all of them and made me see all the torrents Jesus had suffered to save me; my will made me detest them all and promise to want to suffer totally to expiate them. A bunch of thoughts all danced in my head; they were thoughts of pain, of love, of fear, of hope and of comfort …..

…. In this instant Jesus appeared with all his wounds open, but blood was no longer flowing from the wounds; flames of fire flowed instead and in an instant the flames touched my hands, my feet and my heart.”

From the Autobiography of St. Gemma Galgani – quoted in The Voices of Gemma Galgani, The Life and Afterlife of a Modern Saint, Rudolph M. Bell and Crtistina Mazzoni, University of Chicago Press, 2003, p. 54)

Leave a Reply

