Dates in the life of St. Gabriel

1st March 1838 – Born and baptised in Assisi, Italy; 21st September 1856 Clothed in the Passionist Habit; 22 September 1857 Religious Profession; 27th February 1862 Died at Isola Del Gran Sasso; 7th July 1896 Cause of Canonisation introduced by decree of Pope Leo XIII; 31st May 1908 Beatification; 13th May 1920 Canonisation.

Letter of St. Gabriel to his father shortly before his profession as a Passionist:

“I well remember, dearest father, that I promised you to return home whenever I was sure that the Lord had not called me to join this Congregation. But, dear father, how can I possibly leave so good a Master as Jesus Christ and so loving a mother as Mary? Even though I am a useless and unworthy servant, even though I continue to displease their Sacred Hearts, I realise nevertheless that they alone can impart true happiness and joy of heart. I don’t deserve it; indeed I am unworthy of such a grace. God knows I mean that with all my heart.”

One Response to “Dates in the life of St. Gabriel”

  1. Msgr Michael Palud Says:

    The pictures of the kids are really cute… I copied it and sent it to Ottaviano and Joe Jones as well as the CPs here in Jamaica… Hope you have abundant CP vocations. Pray for our little Mission Society.

    Fraternally, Michael

Leave a Reply

