Death of Fr. Raffaele Tresca C.P.

After a long and painful battle with cancer, Fr Raffaele Tresca C.P. died peacefully on Saturday 10th October 2008 at 4.25am at the Sacred Heart Hospice, Darlinghurst in Sydney.

Fr Raffaele, affectionately known as “Padre”, was born in Italy on 24th October 1926. After some years as a Marist Brother in Argentina, Padre joined the Passionists and was professed on 8th December 1957 in the Argentine Province. He was ordained on 29th June 1963.

He was sent to Holy Spirit Province as Chaplain to the Italian community of St Brigid’s, Marrickville arriving on 18th October 1966

A Prayer Vigil for Padre will be held at St. Brigid’s Church, Marrickville on Wednesday 13th October at 7.30 p.m.

The Mass of Christian Burial will be held at St. Brigid’s Church, Marrickville on Thursday 14th October at 10.30 a.m. followed by prayers and burial at the Passionist Section, Rookwood Cemetery.

May the Passion of Jesus be always in our hearts.

8 Responses to “Death of Fr. Raffaele Tresca C.P.”

  1. Ferdinando Scali Says:

    I was very saddened to hear of the death of a man the influenced so much of my early life at Marrickville.
    May god reward Raffaele for all the good that he did during his life.

  2. Rocco Vigliante Says:

    May Padre Raffaele Rest in Peace-he help so many people and taught them
    so much.I learnt so much from this man who taught me so many things.

  3. Mary De Roma Says:

    A MESSAGE TO: Padre Raffaele, my family and I are going to miss you so much. You were not just a wonderful caring Priest, but a beautiful warm person, who went out of his way to help people in need.
    May God bless you and may you rest in peace.
    Please continue to pray and watch over us.
    Thankyou Padre Raffaele for all your prayers and blessings.
    We will be forever grateful and you will always be our saint.

    Love from,
    Mary, Fred, Adam & Alana De Roma

  4. Rosa De Lucca Says:

    May the angels greet you and may you see the face of Jesus.

    You will be missed. You tought me so much and there will be no one like you.

  5. Nicola Bugin Says:

    I would like to say you hello and thank you from the deepest of my heart, because it was a God Blessing to meet you just few months before your birth in heaven!
    I’ll never forget your strong personality and all advices you gave me about the life and which is the best way to live as a true Christian!
    I saw and felt Jesus LOVE in yourself!!!
    You are one of the most important people i met in MY LIFE, and you helped me a lot to discern my vocation!
    You were as a parent for me!
    You really took care of me as a Son!
    I was hoping to meet you again in Sydney soon, but now i know that you can help me and be closer to me from heaven!
    Thanks Fr. Raffaele to dedicated your precious time also for me and for all people came in your life!
    God may give you a Peaceful rest.
    I will miss you!
    Love,
    Nicola

  6. Peter Cipolla Says:

    Padre God Bless you, you have been a major part of our family over the 40 years and a fantastic friend to my father Antonio Cipolla.

    May you rest in peace.

  7. Catherine Mazzeo Says:

    Padre Raffaele there are no words to tell you how sad we are that this day has come. We wanted you to be with us forever. You gave us so much, your generosity had no limit. You were really born to be an Italian Catholic Passionist Priest in Australia. We were fortunate to have you for so long in our Community. Paradise is now yours to enjoy. PAX DOMINI

  8. Egidio (Jim) Guarini Says:

    Dear Padre Raffaele. Thank you so much for all that you have given to Our Community in Australia. We never met in person but we did meet in Spirit through my big sister Rosa Martin (Bondi). We prayed for each other only months ago and I’m so sad that you have left us, but I know that you are in a better place with God. Dear Padre, please pray for us so that we may join you in Heaven. Lots of Love From Egidio (Jim) Guarini, London England. May you rest in Peace.

Leave a Reply

