1889 Letter of John Henry Cardinal Newman

newmbarb2-001_640_x_480

My dear Lord Cardinal,

Thank you for the interest you express in a case which is very dear to me, as is well recognised by the Passionist Fathers. Certainly Fr. Dominic of the Mother of God was a most striking missionary and preacher and he had great part in my own conversion and in that of others. His very look had a holy aspect which when his figure came in sight in my circle most singularly affected me, and his remarkable ‘bonhomie’ in the midst of his sanctity was in itself a real holy preaching. No wonder, then, I became his convert and penitent. He was a great lover of England. I grieved at his sudden death, and I thought and hoped he would receive from Rome the ‘aureola’ of a Saint as is now to be.

Humbly and affectionately Kissing your Eminence’s hands.

I am Your Eminence’s most devoted servant

J. H. Card. Newman.

Leave a Reply

