Mass of Saint Charles of Mount Argus, Passionist

ENTRANCE ANTIPHON

The Spirit of God is upon me; he has anointed me. He sent me to bring good news to the poor and to heal the broken-hearted.

OPENING PRAYER

God our Father, Saint Charles of Mount Argus gave himself wholly to the service of others and brought healing to those who were wounded by sin and suffering. Grant that, following his example, we too may spend our lives helping and caring for our brothers and sisters. Grant this through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

FIRST READING – Is 61:1-3

The Lord has anointed me and sent me to bring good news to the poor. The spirit of the Lord God has been given to me, for God has anointed me. He has sent me to bring good news to the poor, to bind up hearts that are broken; to proclaim liberty to captives, freedom to those in prison; to proclaim a year of favour from the Lord, a day of vengence for our God, to comfort all those who mourn and to give them for ashes a garland; for mourning robe the oil of gladness, for despondency, praise.

RESPONSORIAL PSALM – Ps 88: 2-5, 21-22. 25.27.

Response: I will sing for ever of your love, O Lord.

I will sing for ever of your love, O Lord; through all the ages my mouth will proclaim your truth. Of this I am sure, that your love lasts for ever, that your truth is firmly established as the heavens.

With my chosen one I have made a covenant; I have sworn to David my servant: I will establish your dynasty for ever and set up your throne through all ages.

My truth and my love shall be with them; by my name his might shall be exalted. He will say to me, “You are my father, my God the rock who saves me.:

SECOND READING – Rmns 12:3-13

In light of the grace I have received I want to urge each one among you not to exaggerate his real importance. Each of you must judge himself soberly by the standard of the faith God has given him. Just as each of our bodies has several parts and each part has a separate function, so all of us, in union with Christ, form one body, and as parts of it we belong to each other. Our gifts differ according to the grace given us. If your gift is prophecy, then use it as your faith suggests; if administration, then use it for administration; if teaching then use it for teaching. Let the preachers deliver sermons, the almsgivers give freely, the officials be diligent, and those who do works of mercy do them cheerfully.

Do not let your love be a pretence, but sincerely prefer good to evil. Love each other as much as brothers should, and have a profound respect for each other. Work for the Lord with untiring effort and with great earnestness of spirit. If you have hope, this will make you cheerful. Do not give up if trials come; and keep on praying. If any of the saints are in need you must share with them; and you should make hospitality your special care.

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION – Mk 1:17

Alleluia, alleluia! Follow me, says the Lord, and I will make you fishers of men. Alleluia!

GOSPEL – Mk 16:15-20

Jesus showed himself to the Eleven and said to them, “Go out to the whole world; proclaim the Good News to all creation. He who believes and is baptised will be saved; he who does not believe will be condemned. These are the signs associated with believers: in my name they will cast our devils; they will have the gift of tongues; they will pick up snakes in their hands, and be unharmed should they drink poison; they will lay their hands on the sick, who will recover.”

And so the Lord Jesus, after he had spoken to them, was taken up into heaven: there at the right hand of God he took his place, while they, going out, preached everywhere, the Lord working with them and confirming the word by the signs that accompanied it.

PRAYER OVER THE GIFTS

Father of mercy, we have these gifts in honour of your saints who bore witness to your might power. May the power of the eucharist bring us your salvation. Grant this through Christ our Lord.

PREFACE

Father, all-powerful and ever-living God, we do well always and everywhere to give you thanks. Today we honour your saints who consecrated their lives to Christ for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. What love you show us as you recall mankind to its first innocence, and invite us to taste on earth the gifts of the world to come! Now, with the saints and all the angels we praise you for ever:

COMMUNION ANTIPHON – Mk 28:20

I, the Lord, am with you always, until the end of the world.

PRAYER AFTER COMMUNION

Lord, may the mysteries we receive prepare for us the eternal joys Saint Charles won by his faithful ministry. Grant this in the name of Jesus the Lord.

Leave a Reply

