Archive for May 16th, 2019

May 16 – Mass of St. Gemma Galgani

16 May, 2019

Gemma 30

ENTRANCE ANTIPHON

May I never boast of anything but the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ! Through it the world has been crucified to me and I to the world (Gal 6:14)

OPENING PRAYER

All powerful God, you made the virgin St. Gemma Galgani a living image of your Crucified Son. Through her prayers, may we suffer with Christ and so share in his glory, for he lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God for ever and ever.

FIRST READING

A reading from the letter of Paul to the Hebrews (Heb 12:1-6)

Keep your eyes fixed on Jesus, who inspires and perfects our faith.

Therefore, since we for our part are surrounded by this cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every encumbrance of sin which clings to us and perserve in running the race which lies ahead; let us keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, who inspires and perfects our faith. For the sake of the joy which lay before him, he endured the cross, heedless of its shame. He has taken his seat at the right hand of the throne of God. Remember how he endured the opposition of sinners; hence do not grow despondent or abandon the struggle. In your fight again sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding blood. Moreover, you have forgotten the encouraging words addressed to you as sons: “My sons, do not disdain the disicple of the Lord nor lose heart when he reproves you; For whom the Lord loves, he disciplines; he scourges every son he receives.”

RESPONSORIAL PSALM

Response: He who trusts in the Lord will not be put to shame.

I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall be ever in my mouth. Let my soul glory in the Lord; the lowly will hear and be glad.

Glorify the Lord with me, let us together extol his name. I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.

Look to him that you may be radiant with joy, and your faces may not blush with shame. When the afflicted man called out, the Lord heard and from all his distress he saved him.

Fear the Lord, you his holy ones, for nought is lacking to those who fear him. The great grow poor and hungry but those who seek the Lord want for no good thing.

GOSPEL ACCLAMATION

Alleluia, alleluia. Father, Lord of heaven and earth, to you I offer paise; for you have revealed the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven to the merest children. Alleluia.

GOSPEL

A reading from the holy Gospel according to Matthew (Matt 11:25-30)

On one occasion, Jesus spoke thus: “Father, Lord of heaven and earth, to you I offer praise; for what you have hidden from the learned and the clever you have revealed to the merest of children. Father, it is true. You have graciously willed it so. Everything has been given over to me by my Father. No one knows the Son but the Father, and no one knows the Father but the Son – and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal him.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and find life burdensome, and I will refresh you. Take my yoke upon your shoulders and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble of heart. Your souls will find rest, for my yoke is easy and my burden light.”‘

PRAYER OVER THE GIFTS

Lord, we offer you this spotless victim in honour of Saint Gemma Galgani the virgin. Give us always a clean heart and a spirit of reverence as we gather round this altar. We ask this in the name of Jesus the Lord.

COMMUNION RITE (1 Peter 4:13)

Rejoice in the measure that you share Christ’s sufferings. When his glory is revealed, you will rejoice exultantly.

PRAYER AFTER COMMUNION

Lord, you have fed us with the bread of heaven. Grant that we may die to this world and live for Christ alone, by following in the footsteps of St. Gemma. We ask this in the name of Jesus the Lord.

May 16 – Feast of St. Gemma Galgani

16 May, 2019

photo

On 16th May the Memorial of St. Gemma Galgani is celebrated by the Passionist Congregation.

COLLECT

All powerful God, you made the virgin St. Gemma Galgani a living image of your Crucified Son. Through her prayers, may we suffer with Christ and so share in his glory, for he lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God for ever and ever. Amen.

“In the same year 1896 another desire grew in me; I felt growing in me a desire to love totally Jesus Crucified and together with this desire to suffer and assist Jesus in his sufferings.” – St. Gemma Galgani    [The Voices of Gemma Galgani, The Life and Afterlife of a Modern Saint, Rudolph M. Bell and Cristina Mazzoni, p. 38]

Visit a web sites dedicated to St. Gemma here and here